top of page

Dancing into Spring with Three Glorious Balanchine Pieces

January 12, 2010

See the Music, Hear the Dance

January 12, 2010 -- Los Angeles Ballet [LAB] Artistic Directors Thordal Christensen and Colleen Neary are pleased to present three stunning works by George Balanchine this spring.
LAB’s spring program See the Music, Hear the Dance from George Balanchine includes the Los Angeles Ballet premieres of Kammermusik No. 2 and Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 2, and the return of Serenade.

Kammermusik No. 2 is a conceptual work of vast liveliness, momentum and accuracy. The complex eight-man ensemble dances to the composition of the orchestra, while two couples move to the passages of the piano in the counterpart. Balanchine created a role for LAB’s Artistic Director, Colleen Neary in the original cast of Kammermusik No. 2. Principal casting includes Melissa Barak, Grace McLoughlin, Andrew Brader and Drew Grant.

Another poignant and dramatic Balanchine piece Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 2 is an existing tribute to Petipa, 'the father of classical ballet,” as well as to Tchaikovsky, Balanchine’s “greatest composer." This piece transmits the strength and splendor of majestic St. Petersburg, and exhibits the classical style and romanticism of Balanchine's early Russian training. Monica Pelfrey and Zheng Hua Li are the principal cast.

Serenade is Balanchine’s first original ballet created in America. Originally intended as a stage technique lesson, Balanchine incorporated unanticipated rehearsal events into the work. This beloved ballet articulates the abundant and mystifying score of Tchaikovsky's Serenade for Strings in C. Principal casting for Serenade will be varied.

LAB Public Relations

bottom of page